The definition…

After looking up the definition of alcoholism, I steeped back and gave it a serious thought…

Let’s see:

Alcoholism, which is also known as “alcohol dependence syndrome,” is a disease that is characterized by the following elements

  • CravingA strong need, or compulsion, to drink.
  • Loss of controlThe frequent inability to stop drinking once a person has begun.
  • Physical dependenceThe occurrence of withdrawal symptoms, such as nausea, sweating, shakiness, and anxiety, when alcohol use is stopped after a period of heavy drinking. These symptoms are usually relieved by drinking alcohol or by taking another sedative drug.
  • ToleranceThe need for increasing amounts of alcohol in order to get “high.

I have never felt this craving for booze, never woke up and thought about having a drink. I thank god for this. If I just stop to this first point, oh well I should not have a problem.

Now comes the second point: Loss of control “The frequent inability to stop drinking”.  Unfortunately I relate to that. How many times i JUST went on even though I was already pissed. “Normal” people stop when they feel they have been too far. The thing is, I can’t feel the limit, I ll go until I reach the dark side, when it s time for my dark passenger to come out, and everything becomes fuzzy.

Regarding the physical dependence, I never felt the need to drink to stop anxiety attacks.

As for tolerance, mine was never really high I would get the buzz after a 2 or 3 beers.

Now the question is: If I can tick one of these points does it mean that I am an alcoholic. I think so…

What about you? What do you think?

HEALTH Alcohol 074058

Leave a Reply

